top of page

NQBC Announces Quarterbacks of the Year in Professional, Collegiate, and High School Ranks

Updated: May 10, 2019

PHOENIX, ARIZ. – DECEMBER 8, 2018 – Today, immediately following The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club’s Ed Doherty Award Luncheon, the National Quarterback Club was pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of the 2018 National Quarterback of the Year Awards. This year’s recipients include Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints; Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa of the University of Alabama; Bo Nix of Pinson Valley High School in Birmingham, Ala.; and Spencer Rattler of Pinnacle High School in Phoenix. The athletes will be formally recognized at the National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony at The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch on January 19!

All football fans are welcome to attend the event, where football greats of the past, present and future will gather. Some of the greatest quarterbacks in the game have received the Quarterback of the Year Award, including Cale Gundy, winner of the 1989 high school honors; Carson Palmer and Vince Young, winners of the collegiate awards in 2002 and 2005; and John Elway, Bret Favre and Peyton Manning, each winners of the professional level award.

The National Quarterback Club Hall of Fame includes the likes of Roger Staubach, Otto Graham, Joe Theismann and many others. The celebration gala will include the inductions of Jim McMahon and Danny White into the National Quarterback Hall of Fame, as well as Legacy Recognition Awards honoring Jim Kelly (HoF 2005) and Ken Stabler (HoF 1994) for their on-going contributions to their communities through the good works of their charitable foundations.

Proceeds will benefit Folds of Honor, Hunter's Hope, Kelly for Kids Foundation, the National Football Foundation, the National Sports Foundation and XOXO Stabler Foundation. Entertainment at the gala includes Nate Nathan and the MacDaddy-O’s, keynote speakers include Navy SEAL (Ret.) Darren McBurnett and U.S. Army Major (Ret.) Ed Pulido. Leticia Frye will act as the evening’s auctiontainer. Guests can register for an evening of entertainment by visiting Individuals can register to play in the Celebrity Golf Scramble the day before the event by visiting View a complete list of Quarterbacks of the Year and Hall of Famers at

Media credentials

All inquiries for media credentials to the National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be screened and only qualified media members — working journalists with media organizations, freelancers with strong portfolios on assignment, or influencers with a dedicated following — will be credentialed. We will respond to all timely requests via email in approximately two weeks. Inquiries may be sent to If your request for credentials is approved, NQBC will notify you of where pick up your credentials and what you will have access to.

About the National Quarterback Club

The National Quarterback Club is guided by a comprehensive mission, a clear vision, and consistent values. Through its various award programs, the club recognizes outstanding athletes for their qualities and achievements on and off the playing field and serves as a model for comprehensive excellence in athletic achievement, academic success, and greater social affinity. In 1985, the National Quarterback Club began a tradition of hosting annual fundraising events to honor the National Quarterback of the Year recipients. Annual awards dinners have been hosted in great sports cities such as Washington D.C., Miami, Tampa Bay, Jacksonville, Charlotte, Green Bay, Denver, St. Louis, Minneapolis, and Houston. The National Quarterback Club was founded as a non-profit organization by long-time sports advocate, Robert J. Goeghan.

About Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is the steward of the Ed Doherty Award and is the most meaningful advocate of high school football in the State of Arizona. The mission of the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is to represent Arizona amateur athletics by bringing national attention to the extraordinary qualities of our young people and serve in the pursuit of athletic achievement, academic advancement and greater social affinity.

bottom of page