top of page

2019 preseason watch list for the NQBC High School Quarterback of the Year Award

With the 2019 spring practice season underway for the country’s high school football programs, the National Quarterback Club (NQBC) is pleased to release the preseason watch list that identifies 19 quarterbacks from around the country as candidates for the 2019 National High School Quarterback of the Year Award. Each athlete has been notified directly by NQBC. The 2019 semi-final ballots will be cast by the national electors on November 25, 2019 and will be tabulated on November 29, 2019.

The 2018 National High School Quarterback of the Year Award was shared by Bo Nix of Pinson Valley High School in Pinson, Ala. and Spencer Rattler of Pinnacle High School in Phoenix. Jalen Hurts and Tua Tagovailoa of the University of Alabama shared the National Collegiate Quarterback of the Year Award in what NQBC considers to be the greatest demonstration of sportsmanship that the nation has ever witnessed. Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints was recognized as the Professional Quarterback of the Year.

The National Quarterback Club began honoring the game’s greatest quarterbacks in 1985 by recognizing the National Quarterback of the Year in the professional, collegiate and high school ranks. Some of the game’s most recognizable personalities have been recipients of the high school edition of the National Quarterback of the Year Award, including Jeff George (1985), Cale Gundy (1989), Vince Young (2001) and Tim Tebow (2005).

The 2019 National Quarterback Club Awards Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place in Scottsdale, Arizona from January 17 - 18, 2020. The reception at The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch will begin at 5 p.m. and dinner will commence at 6:30 p.m. The ceremony will honor the 2019 National Quarterbacks of the Year in the high school, college and professional ranks. Additional awards presented during the evening will include the inductions into the National Quarterback Hall of Fame and Legacy Recognition Awards.

For more information about the National Quarterback Club, the awards dinner and Hall of Fame induction ceremony visit A limited number of media credentials can be reserved by emailing

bottom of page